About Hindi language

About the Hindi language
Hindi is a very melodious and phonetic language. It is the national language of India and is spoken by millions of people not only in the native country, but also in several other countries.

Hindi belongs to Indo Aryan family. The dialect upon which the standard Hindi language is based is called “Khariboli”. This is the local language of Delhi and the Uttar Pradesh region. This dialect acquired importance during the reign of the Mughal empire and came to be known as Urdu. However, after independence, the government of India decided to separate Hindi and Urdu and make Hindi the National language of the country.

The Script
Hindi language is written in Devnagiri Script. This script is also used in other languages like Nepali, Sanskrit, Marathi. In this script, the words are pronounced as they are written and vice versa.
The language has 13 vowels and 36 consonants in total.

Relationship between Hindi and English
Hindi and English share an age old relation. They have the same ancestral roots. These languages are said to have evolved from the language which was spoken in Central Asia in 5000BC – this was called the Indo-European language. It is due to this and also the 200 year reign of the “British Raj” that there are several words which are similar in the languages. Words like pashmina, shawl, pundit, poori, pukka have been adopted as part of the English language and are reflected as such in the English dictionary. And several words like bangle, thug, bungalow etc. are adaptations of Hindi words.

Many words of Hindi origin have become a part of the English language. For example words like Pashmina (type of textile), Pooris ( fried cakes), Pundits ( priest), Garam Masala ( hot spices), Raita ( type of yogurt), Chutney ( spread, dip) and many more have been included and become a part of the English language.

Several English words have also been adapted from Hindi and Sanskrit.

Comments are closed.